Karnataka Chief Minister List PDF Download [1947 to 2023]

Rate this post

Download Karnataka Chief Minister List PDF from the given link at the end of this post. For individuals aspiring to become teachers in government schools nationwide, possessing a comprehensive grasp of current affairs and static general knowledge is imperative, as it constitutes a vital section in any government teaching examination. It is highly recommended to stay updated on the latest global events by reading newspapers, e-newspapers, or watching news channels. This article centers on one of the crucial subjects for such candidates – the List of Chief Ministers in Karnataka.

Karnataka Chief Ministers

The state of Karnataka was formerly known as Mysore State, which obtained statehood in 1956 under the States Reorganisation Act. Subsequently, in 1973, it was officially renamed as Karnataka. Following India’s independence, K. Chengalaraya Reddy became the first Chief Minister of Karnataka, serving from 25 October 1947 to 30 March 1952. As of 28 July 2021, the current Chief Minister of Karnataka is Basavaraj Bommai. However, with the State Elections currently underway and the results scheduled to be announced on 13 May 2023, there is a possibility of a new Chief Minister being appointed in Karnataka.

Karnataka (Mysore) Chief Ministers List

Here is the list Karnataka Chief Ministers List before the state of Karnataka did not attain statehood and was known as Mysore from 1947 to 1956.

NameTerm StartTerm EndTenure Length
K. Chengalaraya Reddy25 October 194730 March 19524 years, 157 days
Kengal Hanumanthaiah30 March 195219 August 19564 years, 142 days
Kadidal Manjappa19 August 195631 October 195673 days

Karnataka Chief Ministers List

Here is the Karnataka Chief Ministers List from 1956 to 2023

Chief Minister of Mysore (following the state’s reorganization)

NameTerm StartTerm End
S. Nijalingappa1 November 195616 May 1958
B. D. Jatti16 May 195814 March 1962
S. R. Kanthi14 March 196221 June 1962
S. Nijalingappa21 June 196229 May 1968
Veerendra Patil29 May 196818 March 1971
Vacant (President’s rule)19 March 197120 March 1972

Chief Minister of Karnataka

Chief MinisterStart DateEnd DateTenure Length
D. Devaraj Urs20 March 197231 December 19775 years, 287 days
Vacant (President’s rule)31 December 197728 February 197859 days
D. Devaraj Urs28 February 197812 January 19801 year, 319 days
R. Gundu Rao12 January 198010 January 19832 years, 363 days
Ramakrishna Hegde10 January 19837 March 19852 years, 56 days
8 March 198513 August 1988N/A
S. R. Bommai13 August 198821 April 1989251 days
Vacant (President’s rule)21 April 198930 November 1989223 days
Veerendra Patil30 November 198910 October 1990314 days
Vacant (President’s rule)10 October 199017 October 19907 days
Sarekoppa Bangarappa17 October 199019 November 19922 years, 33 days
M. Veerappa Moily19 November 199211 December 19942 years, 22 days
H. D. Deve Gowda11 December 199431 May 19961 year, 172 days
J. H. Patel31 May 199611 October 19993 years, 133 days
S. M. Krishna11 October 199928 May 20044 years, 230 days
Dharam Singh28 May 20043 February 20061 year, 251 days
H. D. Kumaraswamy3 February 20068 October 20071 year, 247 days
Vacant (President’s rule)8 October 200712 November 200735 days
B. S. Yediyurappa12 November 200719 November 20077 days
Vacant (President’s rule)20 November 200729 May 2008191 days
B. S. Yediyurappa30 May 20085 August 20113 years, 67 days
Sadananda Gowda5 August 201112 July 2012342 days
Jagadish Shettar12 July 201213 May 2013305 days
Siddaramaiah13 May 201317 May 20185 years, 4 days
B. S. Yediyurappa17 May 201823 May 20186 Days
H. D. Kumaraswamy23 May 201826 July 20191 year, 2 months, and 4 days.
B. S. Yediyurappa 26 July 2019 28 July 20212 years and 2 days
Basavaraj Bommai28 July 2021 14 May 20231 year, 9 months, 17 days
Siddaramaiah20 May 2023Incumbent

Karnataka Chief Minister List PDF Preview

Karnataka Chief Minister List PDF Download Here

Disclaimer for PDF Download: 

"PDF.Gkbooks.in" doesn’t aim to promote or allow piracy in any way. We do not own any of these books. We neither create nor scan this Book. The Images, Books & other Contents are copyrighted to their respective owners. 

We are providing PDFs of Books that are already available on the Internet, Websites, and Social Media like Facebook, Telegram, Whatsapp, etc. We highly encourage visitors to Buy the Original content from their Official Sites. 

Please note that we are not responsible for the content of the PDF document and cannot guarantee its accuracy or reliability. By downloading and using the PDF document, you agree to accept all responsibility for its use and any consequences that may result from it. Thank you for your understanding and cooperation.
Spread the love

As a passionate educator, I am driven by a deep-seated desire to share knowledge and empower others. With years of experience in the field, I am committed to providing valuable insights and guidance to aspiring learners. My passion lies in helping individuals discover their potential and achieve their goals.

Leave a Comment

//End of Footer Code